16th Hole, East Course, Merion Golf Club 2013 U.S. Open

The 16th Hole on Merion Golf Club’s East Course, the “Quarry Hole,” is one of the most demanding holes in golf at one of the most historic courses in America. Designed by Hugh Wilson, the East Course opened in 1912. It is perhaps best known as the place where Bob Jones won the 1930 U.S. Amateur to complete the Grand Slam. Merion has hosted more USGA Championships than any club in the United States. The 2013 U.S. Open was the 16th national championship and fifth U.S. Open held at the club.  The last U.S. Open Championship was held in 1981, won by David Graham. Other past Open champions at Merion include Olin Dutra (1934), Ben Hogan (1950) and Lee Trevino (1971). In addition to the U.S. Open, Merion has hosted six U.S. Amateurs, four U.S. Women’s Amateurs and a Girls’ Junior. The club has also made an international impact, hosting a Curtis Cup (1954), World Amateur Team Championship (1960) and Walker Cup (2009).

Back to U.S. Courses

Limited Edition

Artist Proof

Signup for our newsletter and receive a 10% discount on your first order. Use Promo-Code SignMeUp

“Extraordinary & Realistic”

Linda Hartough is recognized as one of golf's leading artists.

Browse Shop Contact
© Linda Hartough Originals/Website by Hazel Digital Media
Back to Top